Founded in 2023, the French Chapter is looking forward to contributing to bridging the global ICON-S community with French scholars of public law. Among our core mission statements lies the global approach to public law, the commitment to support and mentor early career scholars and the aim to foster and enhance academic dialogue.


The French chapter of the International Society of Public Law aims to constitute a forum for the reflection and discussion of a broad range of questions and challenges in the field of public law. It adopts a global approach to public law, encompassing not only traditional legal domains (constitutional law, administrative, European and international law) but also issue-specific domains (digital world, civil liberties, public finance, electoral law, climate change, antidiscrimination law, etc.). It encourages the interdisciplinary and critical study of the law.

Our goal is dual in nature. We hope to create and foster both national and international fora of academic discussion and exchange. By insisting on the circulation of people and ideas, we hope to enhance the visibility of French and francophone legal scholarship on the international scene, to encourage French and francophone academics and legal practitioners to participate in international ICON-S events, engage with scholars and ideas internationally and to showcase the academic work and achievements of French and francophone scholars.

Chapter Governance


  • Eleonora Bottini, professor, University of Caen Normandy
  • Stéphanie Hennette-Vauchez, Paris Nanterre University

Members of the Advisory Board

  • Thomas Acar, associate professor, University of Bordeaux
  • Mustapha Afroukh, associate professor, University of Montpellier
  • Manon Altwegg-Boussac, professor, Paris Est Créteil University
  • Margaux Bouaziz, associate professor, Bourgogne University (Dijon)
  • Pierre Brunet, professor, Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University
  • Emanuel Castellarin, professor, Strasbourg University
  • Dominique Custos, professor, University of Caen Normandy
  • Idris Fassassi, professor, University Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas
  • Aurore Gaillet, professor, Toulouse University
  • Antonin Gelblat, associate professor, University of Rouen
  • Charlotte Girard, associate professor, Paris Nanterre University
  • Marie Gren, professor, Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University
  • Julien Jeanneney, professor, Strasbourg University
  • Afroditi-Ioanna Marketou, associate professor, Paris Est Créteil University
  • Eugénie Mérieau, associate professor, Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University
  • Nicoletta Perlo, associate professor, Toulouse University
  • Vincent Reveillère, associate professor, Aix-Marseille University
  • Patricia Rrapi, associate professor, Nanterre University
  • Guillaume Tusseau, professor, Sciences Po
  • Lionel Zevounou, associate professor, Paris Nanterre University

Doctoral Student Representatives

  • Virginie Kuoch, Panthéon-Sorbonne University
  • Andrea Abi Nader, Paris Nanterre University

Founding Members

  1. Aurélien Antoine, professor, University of Saint Etienne
  2. Denis Baranger, professor, University Paris 2
  3. Michaël Bardin, University of Avignon
  4. Marie-Laure Basilien Gainche, University of Lyon
  5. Xavier Bioy, professor, University of Toulouse
  6. Isabelle Boucobza, professor, Paris Nanterre University
  7. Gwénaële Calvès, professor, Cergy University
  8. Mathieu Carpentier, professor, Toulouse University
  9. Véronique Champeil Desplats, professor, Paris Nanterre University
  10. Jean-Yves Chérot, professor, University of Aix Marseille
  11. Elsa Fondimare, Paris Nanterre University
  12. Nicolas Gabayet, professor, Jean Monnet University (Saint’Etienne)
  13. Mathilde Philippe Gay, professor, Lyon 3 University
  14. Jean-Louis Halpérin, professor, Ecole Normale Supérieure
  15. Carlos Miguel Herrera, professor, Cergy University
  16. Thomas Hochman, professor, Paris Nanterre University

17.  Anne Jacquemet Gauché, professor, University of Clermont Auvergne
18.  Arnaud Le Pillouer, professor, Paris Nanterre University
19. Danièle Lochak, emeritus professor, Paris Nanterre University
20. Laurie Marguet, Paris Est Créteil University
21. Wanda Mastor, professor, University of Toulouse
22. Marie Padilla, University of Bordeaux
23. Xavier Philippe, professor, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne University
24. Marie-Claire Ponthoreau, professor, University of Bordeaux
25. Diane Roman, professor, Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University
26. Dominique Rousseau, emeritus professor, Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University
27. Helene Ruiz Fabri, professor, Max Planck Institute Luxembourg
28. Serge Surin, Ecole pratique des Hautes Etudes
29. Pauline Trouillard, Yale University
30. Michel Troper, emeritus professor, Nanterre University
31. Valentina Volpe, associate professor, Lille Catholic University


Upcoming Events

The ICON-S French Chapter’s launch event will take place in Paris on October 18 2023. A conference on “Abortion as a constitutional matter” by Professor Julie SUK (Fordham) will be followed by a reception hosted by the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. The program of the event will follow. The program of the event can be found here.

The ICON-S French Chapter’s Inaugural Conference will take place in Paris on July 5 2024. The conference call for papers can be found here.

How to Become Involved With Our Chapter

Social Media

Chapter Contact Information

ICON•S | The International Society of Public Law
40 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
United States

© 2024 ICON•S